## Republic of the Union of Myanmar Union Election Commission Notification No (2/2021)

3<sup>rd</sup> Waning of Waso 1383 ME 26 July 2021

## Announcement on annulment of Nov 8 Multiparty General Election results

 The Union Election Commission assigned by the State Administration Council with order no 7/2021 according to Section 419 of the State Constitution of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar inspected the voter lists of 315 townships where the Multiparty General Election was held on 8 November 2021 in detail in order to conduct the needed measures in accord with Section 402 of the Constitution, Section 11 of the Union Election Law and Section 53 of respective Voting frauds and ballots in each region or state Hluttaws Election Law including the checking of voter lists in line with the future work plans of the State Administration Council. Moreover, the UEC inspected the voter lists and the casting of votes in each polling station of respective townships together with the respective UEC members, former township election sub-commission, head of police force, Immigration and Population, administrators and representatives of political parties, and interviewed the election sub-commissions, poll heads and members.

2. According to the findings on voter lists of respective townships, there were 11,305,390 voter lists irregularities across the nation. Although the exact numbers of ballots were issued to the poll stations, it found missing and illegal ballots at every polling station during the inspection. Therefore, the missing and extra ballots were found due to illegal activities. Findings were as follows: —

Voting frauds and ballots in each region or state																
Sr	State/ Region	Townships	Polling stations	Finding on voter lists							On-the-ground finding on ballot papers					
				Non-IDs	Thrice & above	Twice	States/ Regions crosscheck	Above 100-year-old	Under 18	Total Voting fraud	Withdrawal	Used	Exact remaing	Remaining on the ground	Loss	Extra
1	Kachin	18	919	92,452	7,633	102,876	60,590	679	497	264727	1301094	761,324	539,770	536,889	9,449	6,568
2	Kayah	7	233	5,552	930	16,680	5,912	238	44	29356	238805	162,849	75,956	75,276	2,468	1,788
3	Kayin	7	852	241,953	15,258	128,230	15,294	917	822	402474	1366222	641,848	724,374	654,029	72,272	1,927
4	Chin	9	957	15,580	2,981	34,248	1,954	366	185	55,314	427,455	218,595	208,860	196,673	16,746	4,559
5	Sagaing	37	4,107	337,484	39,220	460,916	71,872	1,897	1,466	912,855	483,4052	3,358,659	1,475,393	1,410,220	129,545	64,372
6	Taninthayi	10	1,205	193,991	8,120	112,756	28,958	708	366	344,899	1,299,972	787,976	511,996	495,219	24,098	7,321
7	Bago	28	4,144	858,611	37,162	382,058	61,008	1,985	877	1,341,701	4,421,820	2,801,883	1,619,937	1,536,132	151,867	68,062
8	Magway	25	4,548	172,976	33,956	397,504	45,242	1,567	650	651,895	3,820,561	2,551,681	1,268,880	1,190,533	86,872	8,525
9	Mandalay	28	5447	388,282	38,090	516,776	217,668	3,151	1,239	1,165,206	5,467,884	3,792,347	1,675,537	1,507,778	221,546	53,787
10	Mon	10	973	305,987	13,002	174,268	26,828	902	485	521,472	2,023,776	1,039,295	984,481	950,625	45,568	11,712
11	Rakhine	8	784	77,573	4,101	47,712	3,598	341	223	133,548	857,321	328,918	528,403	522,502	9,738	3,837
12	Yangon	45	5,809	747,138	11,070	269,412	405,366	2,222	1,909	1,437,117	6,689,270	4,085,686	2,603,584	2,337,150	357,937	91,503
13	Shan	49	3,591	616,531	22,697	309,248	69,054	2,597	1,996	1,022,123	4,023,194	2,399,225	1,623,969	1,574,907	96,666	47,604
14	Ayeyawady	26	5,748	706,984	54,285	567,300	39,742	2707	3,339	1,374,357	5,238,205	3,479,869	1,758,336	1,641,341	182719	65,724
15	Union Terriotry	8	646	108,333	6,900	76,222	38,690	289	314	230,748	994,751	687,903	306,848	291,509	16,900	1,561
		315	39,963	4,869,427	295,405	3,596,206	1,091,776	20,566	14,412	9,887,792	43,004,382	27,098,058	15,906,324	14,920,783	1,424,391	438,850
	Whole country crosscheck						1,417,598			1,417,598						
	Total	315	39,963	4869427	295,405	3,596,206	2,509,374	20,566	14,412	11,305,390	43,004,382	27,098,058	15,906,324	14,920,783	1,424,391	438,850

3. In addition, voter lists in each township, scrutiny of the ballot papers and the voting conditions were as follows: -

(a) The former Union Election Commission (UEC) appointed those who wish to be appointed by the region or state chief ministers as chairpersons and members of the sub-commissions. and above since 29-10-2020 prior to the election day, members of the NLD party victory team visited the houses during the advance voting.

(e) Duplication of voter lists and mass inclusion of voters without a national identification card occurred because the previous UEC announced the advancing of those who couldn't return (i) The NLD party also interfered in each election process including collecting voter lists, election campaigns, advance voting process and voting processes on the election day with their power.

(j) The NLD party misused administrative power and the COVID-19 rules and regulations in

- (b) Under the directives of the Union Government Office, a support group was formed and led by the region or state chief ministers to complete the voter lists and due to the group, there were two- or three-times duplication of voter lists.
- (c) There was mass inclusion of people without citizenship cards in the voter lists as well as there were voters in the voter lists two or three times with the same national identification card.
- (d) Following the directive issued by the former UEC to allow advance voting for voters aged 60

home due to the COVID-19 pandemic on 8-10-2020 and 11-10-2020.

(f) Voters who do not have a citizenship card were allowed to cast their ballots at the polling stations with the voter IDs after the previous UEC issued a directive to enable voters who do not have a citizenship card to cast their ballots, which did not comply with the respective Hluttaw Election Laws.

(g) With regard to the ballot papers used in polling stations used on the election day, ballots without the UEC logo were considered valid.(h) A large number of voter list errors in polling stations was not accidental but deliberate acts.

electoral activities, including the campaigning of other political parties and Hluttaw Representatives to grab the State Power.

(k) As the Multiparty Democracy General Election held on 8 November 2020 was not in compliance with the Constitution of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, Union Election Commission Law and respective Hluttaw Election Law, in addition to the fact that it was found that the election was not free and fair, the results of the 8 November election was annulled. *Thein Soe* 

Chairman Union Election Commission